TheONbutton Durham Computer Services

Remote IT Support and Computer & Technology Help in Durham, Chapel Hill and Raleigh NC

Fix Dell Latitude Intel 5300 WiFi connection issues

Intel 5300 Connection ProblemI’ve been enjoying a frankly awesome and outperforming Dell Latitude E6400 ATG for some time now.  A review is on its way, but in the meantime one issue I’ve encountered is frequent WiFi connection dropouts when using its Intel 5300 AGN WiFi card.  The Intel 5300 is remarkable for its theoretical ability to catch a signal at 450 meters from the source, but this counts for nothing if the connection keeps dropping ten feet from your home router.

I narrowed down the issue to being a power management problem and by disabling the power management features of the 5300, my faith in the Latitude E6400 ATG’s general awesomeness was restored.  I’m assuming that the card was being too aggressive at saving power and, by entering a low power state whenever possible, it was inadvertently disconnecting from some routers.

My Latitude E6400 ATG is running Windows Professional 32-bit and here are the changes to the settings I made to resolve the issue, your mileage may of course vary:

Dell E6400 ATG 31. In the Change Advanced Power Settings within the Power Options section of the Control Panel, I set the Power Saving Mode of the Wireless Adapter Settings to Maximum Performance for both On Battery and Plugged In.

2. In the Properties of the Intel 5300 AGN in Device Manager I went to Power Management and un-ticked the box next to “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power”.

3. In the Advanced tab of that same Properties window I also changed the 802.11n mode from 20MHz to Auto.  This allows for faster connections if your router supports them.

The steps resolved the connection dropping issue for me, if you’re experiencing something similar I hope this helps you too.  As a more severe solution, I have had a good experience with a Dell 1510 WiFi card in my Latitude E4300, so I was about to try that card in the E6400 ATG.  Fortunately following the steps above made that unnecessary.

Neil Berman

facebook.com/theonbutton

theonbutton.com

Jun 27, 2010 - Posted by | Guides, Hardware, Microsoft, Mobile | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. […] I've been enjoying a frankly awesome and outperforming Dell Latitude E6400 ATG for some time now.  A review is on its way, but in the meantime one issue I've encountered is frequent WiFi connection dropouts when using its Intel 5300 AGN WiFi card.  The Intel 5300 is remarkable for its theoretical ability to catch a signal at 450 meters from the source, but this counts for nothing if the connection keeps dropping ten feet from your home router. I … Read More […]

    Pingback by Fix Dell Latitude Intel 5300 WiFi connection issues (via theONbutton) « Chicago Mac/PC Support | Jun 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] I did have some initial problems with the onboard Dell Intel 5300 AGN wireless card.  This half-height mini PCI card is designed to allow for 802.11 draft N connections as far as 450 meters from a router.  That’s a theoretical maximum of course, but I found that when connecting to certain routers the Intel 5300 couldn’t even manage a few meters without dropping a connection.  This turned out to be a power management issue which I resolved by tweaking the settings on the configuration screens for the Intel 5300.  You can read about my Intel 5300 problem and solution here. […]

    Pingback by Dell Latitude E6400 / E6410 ATG Review « theONbutton | Jul 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. In my case the problem was in different version of Intel PRO/Set.
    I have change the application from support.intel.com and now works just fine.

    Comment by Peter | Jul 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hi!
    A friend gave me his old Dell laptop and it works fine when connected to the DSL modem but am unable to configure it for wireless use. It’s Latitude 06400 with Win XP professional. Any ideas what I should do?

    Comment by Efrosina Perry | Jul 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. I have been having the same issue. Thanks for the tip. Hopefully I have as much success as you!

    Comment by Nick Olsen | Oct 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. This worked for me – I’m using a E4300 from work and my airport extreme at home. Thanks for posting!

    Comment by mitch | Mar 21, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] http://theonbutton.com/2010/06/27/fix-dell-latitude-intel-5300-wifi-connection-issues/ – More intel card speculation.  I’ve tried all the suggested tips without any chance […]

    Pingback by Unsolved: Strange wireless video streaming problem « DIY Media Home | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  8. I have tried to replicate your first step but I cannot find any options similar to it.

    Comment by Matt | Jul 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

