TheONbutton Durham Computer Services

Remote IT Support and Computer & Technology Help in Durham, Chapel Hill and Raleigh NC

Laptop prices falling hard

Today’s MacBook price cuts were both welcome and not unique in the current laptop market.  Ultraportables and desktop replacements alike have been suffering from netbooks and Intel CULV powered thin ‘n lights pulling down the whole sector.

It’s pretty cool that you can finally get a decently powered 3-4lb laptop with a 13 inch screen for well under $1,000; MSI’s X340 and Acer’s Timeline are good examples.  Both are HD video capable and provide enough power for day-to-day computing.

These machines pull down the premium end of the ultraportable market like the Dell Adamo and MacBook Air, which don’t really offer much more hardware than the MSI or Acer.  In fact the Dell is probably slower than both.  So now we have a $1,499-$1,799 MacBook Air, which is great news for consumers and effectively sets a glass ceiling for ultraportable prices.

At the heavier end of the market 17 inch laptops are under strain from all-in-ones like the Asus EEE Top which are semi-mobile and keenly priced.  I found a new Toshiba dual-core T3400 17 inch laptop on Amazon this evening for $529.  This thing was fully loaded, you really wouldn’t need much more for a day-to-day desktop replacement…and of course you can install Windows 7 RC and get almost a year of usage before you need to buy a license.

Neil Berman

www.theonbutton.com

Jun 8, 2009 - Posted by | Analysis, Computing, Mobile | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165
    Consumer Reports gave the Acer Aspire One high marks and that was enough for me. I an completely pleased with my selection of of this netbook. Since the keyboard is obviously not full-sized, I’m making occasional typos but I’m sure my skill level will increase over time. That’s my issue not an issue with the Acer Aspire One. I purchased a Logitech wireless mouse and a Netgear wireless router. My netbook was immediately responsive to both. I also purchased a two-year extended warranty that covers accidents. I’m three-weeks into using my new toy and I have no complaints at all.

    Comment by Martin | Jun 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

